PDA

View Full Version : Gaining private land access in Illinois

Hoythews71
June 26th, 2011, 04:10 PM
I realize Im writing this post because Im frustrated as hell about Illinois. Just want to see if my success (or lack there of) is comparable to any others.

Im active duty Navy and live in NE Illinois, just south of the Wisconsin border. Im an instructor in Great Lakes. In the two years Ive been stationed here, Ive contacted over 120 landowners about gaining permission to bowhunt their property. Its the same "system" for all of them too. Find the landowners name and address, send a letter introducing myself and scheduling a visit, which I always show up on time for, and I also include a no-fault injury contract that was drafted by a lawyer. I always leave a contact number too, so they have an easy way out if they dont want to give me permission. I volunteer to work on their farms for no pay in exchange for permission, help with odd jobs, etc.

Anytime I see a farmer working his land, I always stop by, introduce myself and offer to lend a hand...nothing. I did this with 2 older farmers today, and they both said no and that Id never be able to find anyone in the area that would let me bowhunt their property.

Ive only received permission on one small parcel, so that puts my total success rate right around .80%. F*** THIS PLACE! All of the effort Ive put into this has been a waste of time! Ive even played the military angle, and its like no one here gives a damn who you are or what you do.

Zim
June 27th, 2011, 08:59 AM
H71,