PDA

View Full Version : Tuning w/ drop away rest

elkaddict
March 7th, 2005, 08:48 PM
I'm getting ready to paper tune a Patriot SC w/ a trophy taker drop away rest. Arent tuning issues greatly reduced with a drop away rest? While I am new to tuning, it seems to me that if the center shot is spot on other problems are less likely. Am I right? Anything special issues to look for? Thanks in advance.

hansel
March 7th, 2005, 09:24 PM
With a drop away you are greatly reducing the chance of fletching contact, that's what makes them nice. With my two Hoyt's all I did was set centershot, and nock position, and they paper tuned perfectly. The only timing is when the arrow is raised into position at full draw, you want the arrow to be raised the last 1-2 inches of your draw. What I did was take a arrow, place some masking tape on it, and make 1inch marks to check when you are drawing the bow. Then paper tune, to see where you are at. Hopefully I've not confused you, once you play with it for awhile, it's really easy to tune.

elkaddict
March 8th, 2005, 01:18 AM
I spent the evening punching paper. Started out with low right tears. With adjustments, I've got the vertical adjustment worked out. However, no matter which way I adjust, I cant seem to get rid of the right tear. I'm stumped, but I'm also new to paper tuning. I'm shooting 27.5" gt 7595 at 74lbs. I am shooting a release. For comparison, I shot some 5575s I had laying around and they are fine right to left, but tear downwards. Tonight I've read both Eastman's guide and a chapter from an older book on bow tuning. The book suggests that while unusal, sometimes a right tear evidences too stiff a spine. Could this be my problem? I'm at a bit of a loss to understand how when shooting a release a modestly stiff arrow would tear to the right unless it is caused by hand torque. I do shoot w/ an open hand. I've read repeatedly that for a 70-75 bows such as my Patriots, that, 5575s were probably not stiff enough. Any suggestions