PDA

View Full Version : Is it ok for someone else to paper tune your bow?

TrevorF
March 8th, 2005, 12:56 PM
I'm new to this and just started to shoot my compound for the first time on Sunday. The owner of the pro shop set it up for me, set the draw legth etc and then paper tuned it for me. I was told that I should have done the paper tune myself because we may not hold the bow the same way. Is this true? Now that the bow is tuned should I go a head and paper tune it myself?
Thanks,
Trevor

BradMc26
March 8th, 2005, 01:04 PM
I would say no that you need to do it yourself.

He may have gotten you close, but it kind of like bore sighting a rifle if you ask me. Close just dont cut it.

Download a copy of Eastons tuning guide and give it a go. You learn a lot more by doing it yourself and it is fun.

Good luck.

winter86
March 8th, 2005, 01:04 PM
it'll be pretty close when someone else does it but if you want it perfect than shoot it yourself.

Jorge Oliveira
March 8th, 2005, 01:10 PM
As they said, but since you're just started, wait until you're shooting fine.

It will be worse if you try to tune it as a begginer - you will get mad and possibly make the tune worse.

reflex shooter
March 8th, 2005, 01:15 PM
Agreed, your grip and form need to be good in order for you to be able to tune your bow. My buddy who works in a shop says some newbies will shoot through the paper and get a different tear every time.

hansel
March 8th, 2005, 02:03 PM
You should have been shooting your bow, because your form may not be right, and his might. I've learned over time to set up, and paper tune my own bows, ya it's like working on cars, at first it seems hard or confusing, but after reading, and spending time a the club you pick this stuff up. My 2cents worth. :D

Jeebus Kliest
March 8th, 2005, 02:16 PM
Yes you will need to tune it yourself.