PDA

View Full Version : Drop Zone and Blazer Vanes

NKYBOWHUNTER
March 9th, 2005, 08:38 PM
Hello Gentleman, I have my drop zone rest set up according to spec per trophy ridge. I recently started shooting the blazer vanes. I honestly cannot tell myself if I am getting any contact. I know my center shot is on and everything else is good. But today while shooting I noticed arrows entering the target at slightly different angles. I'm hard to tell if the scuffs on the launcher are from the arrow being drawn accross they rest or if it is my vane ever so slightly hitting on release. It was quite windy today when shooting so I'm sure that could have played a part.

Do any of you have experience with this style drop away and blazer vanes? What did you do? My only thought now is move the drop cord up the cable a quarter inch or so more so it will drop out of the way faster if it truely is hitting. But, before going through that, any other Ideas on how to check and be sure it is actually hitting.

Thanks in advance!

Jerry/NJ
March 9th, 2005, 08:50 PM
I am shooting the Blazers and the Drop Zone also and no contact at all.
Take some lip stick or something similar and put it on the vanes (a stripe acorss the vane) and shoot it and look for lip stick on the rest and where on the vane it hit. Then you can plan your adjustment.

NKYBOWHUNTER
March 9th, 2005, 09:24 PM
Good Call Jerry...thanks for the tip!

Take care!

Dave Nowlin
March 10th, 2005, 02:21 AM
I will give you the same advice Mike Carter gave me. Untie the pull cord and simply have it sticking through the middle of the bus cable. Purposely pull it through far enough to make the rest come up early and come to full draw without tying the cord in. Then let the bow down and pull about 1/16 inch of cord through the bus cable to obtain just a little more tension and tie it off. Next make sure you shoot with the cock vane up and you should have no problems.
Dave Nowlin

Roland
March 10th, 2005, 09:53 AM