PDA

View Full Version : Please help a Rookie

tewfat
March 15th, 2005, 08:51 PM
I am very new to archery but really enjoy it, so if my question is lame please go easy on me. I bought a used bow (PSE Baby G) and did what I could to dress it up. I put on Winners Choice cables and string and a 3/4 whisker biscuit. I bought 1/2 dozen Vital Impact 400 grain carbon arrows. I used gift certificates that I had saved up at Sportsmans Warehouse to get me started. The warehouse boys were very nice and seemed knowledgeable enough to me so I can't complain about them personally. However, I am consistantly tearing the bottom vane off of my arrows. It doesn't happen all at once, just a little at a time. I've been back to the warehouse various times both with and without my bow and all they do is tell me that the glue on the vane must have been bad and they exchange my arrows. That seems all fine and dandy but it is getting old. Is this just something that I need to learn to live with because I am using a biscuit? Or is it something else? I'm not against going to another shop to see if they can help me tune it but I would kind of like to have an idea of what to expect before I go in. Also, I've already heard it all about how the Baby G isn't a good bow to learn on and it's hard to shoot, but I'm into this one and buying a new one isn't an option right now. So any suggestions that would help me would be great.
Thanks

AKDoug
March 15th, 2005, 09:08 PM
Turn your arrows over. You need to shoot the cock vane up when using a whisker bisquit.

2ndchance
March 15th, 2005, 09:14 PM
like akdoug said turn your arrow around so the cock feather is up.

also you will find the vanes that come on arrows are cheap and will riple in the WB and eventually tear up. i suggest whenthis happens, have your arrows relfetched with some high quality vanes such as bohnings or flex fletch.

4snshine
March 15th, 2005, 09:16 PM