PDA

View Full Version : My stabilizer points to the left

Aussiebowhunter
March 21st, 2005, 07:35 PM
Hey guys,

My Ultratec shoots bullet hole though paper, but when I'm at full draw and aiming at the target my stabilizer is pointing to the left of the target.

I've been shooting like this for about 12 months. I didn't notice til I put a longer stabilizer on recently.

My groups are not too bad but I do seem to get some right and left arrows

Does this happen to anyone else??

Aussiebowhunter
March 21st, 2005, 11:20 PM
Come on Hoyt shooter I need help

PA.JAY
March 22nd, 2005, 07:01 AM
on spott hoggs sight they talk about this letter 20 something about the 3rd. axis .

Aussiebowhunter
March 23rd, 2005, 12:29 AM
It's not the 3rd axis.

It's the fact that to get a bullet hole with paper the rest needs to bemore to the right than it looks like it should. As a result the stabilizer is pointing to the left of the target.

Anyone else have this problem with their Hoyts'??????????

AKDoug
March 23rd, 2005, 12:47 AM
It does this because of cable guard torque. Just quit looking at it and shoot :D

Archersteve
March 23rd, 2005, 12:51 AM
This is not just a Hoyt problem, if it is even a problem. There are several reasons this happens.

First, some bows are not machined straight so the stab does not point straight to the front to begin with.

Second, some bows have a great deal of built in torque in the grips/riser and to get the bullet hole you need to compensate for the torque. (This is what I found with my Ultratec)

Third, some arrows are overspined or underspined a little and moving the rest to the right tunes for this problem but makes the stab point a little off.

Forth, some archers have form problems that cause torque no matter what grip they are using and this causes the same problem.