PDA

View Full Version : Arrow selection for vintage #45 grizzly

garyson1311
April 5th, 2012, 05:03 PM
Hey guys I am just getting into traditional archery and picked up a 1973 Grizzly #45 that is in GREAT shape. I also got one of bearbowmans flemish strings (Awesome string!) set up with a 7 3/4 brace and I am now trying to get some arrows set up. I wouldnt mind trying hunting with it but for now, I will be hitting up some 3d comps. My buddy had a half dozen easton 2213 xx75 platinum shafts that were cut at 28 1/2 laying around and according to eastons "hunting" chart, these arrows would fit the bill with a 125gn tip. I set one up with a 125gn tip and 4 inch feathers and it seems to shoot really straight, no fishtail, no wrist shock, loud string sound etc. (Compared to some 2315 camo hunters I had laying around that fishtailed all over the place because I thought they were way too stiff for the bow and checking eastons chart confirmed it). I just wanted to see what you guys thought about that set up with the 2213's? If it isnt a healthy set up for the bow i'd buy new shafts (probably carbon like my wheelbow's arrows) but I am assuming that if it fits on eastons chart, flys well, and the bow seems to react ok to them I should have nothing to worry about.. Plus, that'd save me a few bucks! Id still really like to hear your opinions though. Thanks a million. Btw, the total arrow weight I am getting from these arrows is 450 grains +/- 2ish grains which gives me about 10gpp on the bow. I am pulling it to about 28".

guyver
April 5th, 2012, 05:12 PM
...I am assuming that if it fits on eastons chart, flys well, and the bow seems to react ok to them I should have nothing to worry about.. Plus, that'd save me a few bucks!...