PDA

View Full Version : 1st timer looking for input.

Londo
January 10th, 2013, 04:55 PM
Hello to all in bow land ! I'm a newbie to archery and just got my first bow from Santa this season [wink] It's a PSE Stinger 3G and not having any thing to compare it to I must say I love this thing and the sport! Picked it up at a pro shop [measured fit etc.] got my free lesson and home I went. Picked up a "black Block" and started at 10 yds with it cranked down 10 turns. Hooked from arrow 1 and have been consistent with shooting every day. I have now worked up to 20 yds and average 3-4" groups with some flyers when I get tired. I know there is a world of knowledge for me to consume about this sport and have done some reads about form, etc. but I have a simple question about strings that I hope to have answered.
As I said the bow was bought as a package[rest, sight, kisser,release,arm guard, arrows, 100 hrs range time, free instruction, tuning] I wax the string and have not exposed the bow to the elements. After the first 30-40 shots the peep sight became way off center [rotated]. Brought it back to the pro shop and they placed a tool in , removed the peep and re installed aligned up. All Good. I put another 40 or so down range and the same thing. This time I did the procedure my self. Another bunch and it seems to have mellowed out [stopped twisting] just a little know but the rubber strap pulls it into plane. ? is... is this normal, the settling in of the string, bad string ? I figured this was a good place to start so please give me your input and go easy on me, I am a greenhorn but not for long !

ndm
January 10th, 2013, 05:30 PM
New strings will stretch and cause some peep rotation.

Sent from my USCC_ALCATEL_one_touch_988 using Tapatalk 2

SARASR
January 10th, 2013, 05:36 PM