Archery Talk Forum banner

Dry Run…Advice from 1 Beginner to Another…

296 views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  talntedmrgreen 
#1 ·
I usually try hunting situations when setting up stands before deer season and since this is my first try at turkey’s I knew I would be in for suprises if I didn’t practice everything I could. I was very right. I highly recommend to any beginners that you try a few dry runs before you hit the woods. you WILL suprise yourself! Seasoned hunters likely know how and what to do, but for us newbies, it’s a whole new ballgame.

Well, I finally had a free morning, and since our first gobbler season has now begun (for which I do not have a tag) I decided my scouting was finished and stayed home to practice a bit. I decided to try a few dry runs with full gear and did a few mock hunts in the back yard. I tell you what, you feel a bit goofy at first as the neighbors mow the grass while trying to figure out what on earth you are doing, but I learned A LOT today and feel much more confident!

I donned my camo, loaded pack and bow and started at the truck in the drive (as I would in the woods) and snaked my way through the garage and into the back yard. I already had a good feel for how much larger and immobile I was with my gear, as the garage echoes the slightest error in movement between vehicles quite well. Got to the back yard and quickly unpacked and setup as I would in a fast moving turk situation. Here I learned that I not only had gear in poor locations, but also noticed I couldn’t find half my stuff fast enough.