Archery Talk Forum banner

Mathews or a ross???

980 views 23 replies 22 participants last post by  Dannyw 
#1 ·
Ok so im 17, i have been shooting archery for about allmost 2 years. My dad baught me a hoyt ultra mag for my first bow. My dad shoots a Mathews and so does his buddy we hunt with. so im lookin into gettin a new bow in about a month or two, what do you guys prefere? I went and checked out the ross 331 and about fell in love with it, and i havnt even shot it yet, but then again i looked at the new mathews drenelin, and again i liked it.. accorc ei will shoot both before i make my decision but what do you think will last longer and help me improve my shooting either in the range or in the feild? Thanks for your time..

#6 ·
In my opinion, and this is just MY opinion, the Mathews Drenalin is by far a better bow. I absolutely love my Switchback and after shooting it side by side with the new Drenalin, I am selling my Switchie and I'll be placing an order for a Drenalin Tuesday or Wednesday.

I am not taking anything away from a Ross, they are indeed very nice bows, but of the 2 you listed I would definitely be going for the Mathews.

That being said, let one of the 2 bows choose you, don't choose one of the bows ;)

#7 ·
I know you are asking about the Ross 331 and the Mathews Drenalin which are both spectacular bows. Having shot them both along with a few others the other day, I ended up buying a Hoyt Vectrix. Pretty tough piece of equipment. If you have not held or shot the Vectrix it may be worth 5 minutes of your time to try it out.

Matt

#8 ·
Shoot em before you decide.

I have had Mathews (2 of them) Bowtech (3 of them), Hoyt, Newberry, and Storm and ended up keeping the Ross bows over all of them (except Tribute):wink:

In my opinion, you can not go wrong with a Ross.

Good Luck.

#10 ·
bows