PDA

View Full Version : Would You Hunt Bear With A Bow?

Sherri
July 9th, 2002, 11:56 AM
As an outfitter in Alberta, Canada, I have an opportunity to buy bear bow tags (allocations) in a zone where baiting is not legal. I was wondering if you, as bow hunters, would ever consider doing spot and stalk spring or fall bear hunts. Do you think this would be too dangerous or difficult? Or do you think it would be a good investment as there might be a market for spot and stalk bear bow hunting?

Thanks for helping, Sherri

huntnnut
July 9th, 2002, 02:24 PM
I'm no expert on bear hunting as you probably know from my other post and I'm not familiar with the terrain in the Alberta, Canada though from what I understand it is very difficult to take a bear unless you're either hunting over bait or a food source.

Here in Georgia, baiting is not legal so the only effective method to bear hunting that I'm aware of is setting up over food sources that they have been frequenting as the forest are to dense to offer spot and stalk method.

If the terrain there offers spot and stalk opportunities I can see it being viable perhaps, especially if there is a reduced rate to be had for the hunter.

I know a lot of folks here in the US will not hunt over bait period so this may be a good option and selling point for these folks. Baiting has become a big issue here with the CWD issue confronting everyone.

I know there's a lot of these Georgia boys that head up to Canada, some on a yearly basis.

Like I said I'm no expert, just my $.02 for what it's worth, though good luck with which ever way you decide to go. :)

Sherri
July 9th, 2002, 02:42 PM
Thanks for your reply, Huntnut.