PDA

View Full Version : Old Jennings Compound

pofarm
December 23rd, 2007, 11:11 PM
I still own my very first compound bow that I purchased in 1972 or 1973, right after I graduated from High School. It is a 4 pulley bow. There is a sticker on the bow that says Bow Of The Future Jennings Compound. Is it possible that this is the first compound that was ever made. I do remember that there wasn't any others at the archery shop to pick from. The Bow is in very good shape, and is very shootable. Was just wondering if it has any value .

gpalma
December 24th, 2007, 12:59 AM
It is not the first compound made.

archerm3
December 24th, 2007, 09:01 AM
yes it has value. How much, that depends how badly someone wants it in their collection.

thewitchdr
December 12th, 2010, 03:40 PM
A lead, as to what this bow is that I picked up at a yard sale this summer!
I can see that it is mostly wood construction, beneath the camo spray paint.
Four pulleys is the only other feature that stands out.
This guy also said it was his first bow, that his father bought for him when he was a boy. So, I would estimate it to be of hte same vintage as the Jennings in this thread.
If anyone can help (this is my first bow, and I'm just starting to learn about them) I sure would appreciate pics to compare, or any other kind of info.
Thanks all

-Thewitchdr
topgun.construction@gamil.com

jmoose77
December 12th, 2010, 06:13 PM
Your Jennings look like one on the left thewitchdr?

Hank D Thoreau
December 13th, 2010, 10:49 AM
The best way to assess value is to check ebay and see what they are selling for. There are many old, vintage bows, that are getting very little, if they sell at all. I was recently reading a website of a collector that said that ebay provided the highest price, that he ususally obtained his bows from pawn shops and individuals where the price was generally lower. Maybe others can provide some better info on where to sell if there is truely collector value for this bow.

Padgett