PDA

View Full Version : Kinetic Energy and FPS Questions

Checkmate
January 17th, 2008, 06:49 PM
I am posting this here, instead of the general archery forum, because after all the reading on AT, bowhunters seem more concerned with KE than target shooters. I am fairly new to archery and have yet to hunt, but next season I am going out even if I am on my deathbed. The questions I have came from today when I was testing my bow a bit more.

1.) I chronographed my bow, just 2 shots, (didn't want to waste the time of the shop attendant by getting a really good average FPS) but it came out 265/264 for an average of 264.5 FPS. Which I am not disappointed with. I am just wondering if I upped the draw weight to 70 pounds, what kind of increase could I expect to gain.

2.) The arrow I shot was 398 grains, giving me a total KE of 61.84. I plan on shooting 100 grain Slick Trick standards next season. Using a head that isn't cut on contact, should I be looking for more KE or is this plenty?

70 pounds is not uncomfortable for me to draw back, I have read and know that shot placement is the most important thing, and I am working on accuracy at least every other day. I am just wondering what others feel is "good enough" for humanely harvesting whitetails. Thanks for all the help in advance.:darkbeer:

Check

HVAC/R Hunter
January 17th, 2008, 07:06 PM
Are you drawing 60# now. General rule of thumb is 1 fps per pound of draw weight. so if you went from 60 to 70# then you could expect to see around 10 fps more. IMHO 61# of KE is plenty for your ST's

duda
January 17th, 2008, 07:10 PM
Speed will increase about 10 fps/5 lb draw wieght. 61 lbs is plenty of ke. A deer is considered medium game, they recomend 50- 65 lbs of ke for bear and moose. If I was you I would be happy with what you have. Don't worry about the math too much the most important thing is shoot placement.

EDIT: 1fps/1lb may by correct I don't remember.

horsefly115
January 17th, 2008, 07:11 PM