Archery Talk Forum banner

Ladies - help

1K views 8 replies 9 participants last post by  rvkhan 
#1 ·
Ok - how do I get my wife to take a more active interest in archery??

I actually have gotten her to shoot a weekly league with me, but that is as far as it goes. She is improving, but very, very slowly - you see we shoot tradtional - and the only way to get good is to dedicate time.

Granted - we have six kids and she homeschools them - so at the end of the day she is pretty burnt, BUT - i am trying to get her to shoot a few arrows a day - i have an area in my house where we have a 3D target set up and can get up to 20 yard shots - but she rarely if ever will practice.

any ideas - or should i just be glad that she shoots once a week with me??

#2 ·
Maybe she just prefers to shoot with you, instead of alone? I know that's one thing that got me interested... that it's a hobby that my hubby & I can do together.

I'm brand new to the sport so I don't have much advice but I think it's great that she at least shoots once a week with ya - especially with homeschooling and everything.

Good luck to ya! :)

#3 ·
I know that you are really eager for her to shoot as much as you. Not knowing your wife, but knowing how I felt in the beginning, if she has that much on her plate she probably is shooting as much as she likes. Keep encouraging but be careful about pushing, she may feel overwhelmed. Don't give up, if she is shooting once a week still that shows you that she is interested. Just enjoy the time now, with encouragment and time I'm sure she will shoot more down the road.

God Bless

#4 ·
Did she make the Decision to shoot Trad or you?

I see a lot of fall out and burn out in ladies shooting trad not so much in Ladies shooting modern Gear

Busy ladies get worn out quick shootign trad gear i find

I just bought my lady Red Dot a 1966 Black Widow target bow 68' x 26# today

my two cents

Tink

#5 ·