PDA

View Full Version : Choise for Elk

Lionel
July 29th, 2002, 12:12 PM
I have been hunting for over 40 years and with a bow for over 10. I have had no problem harvesting deer with a 50 lb bow and cut on contact broadheads. I have been shooting 3-D every weekend and shoot some indoor in the winter. I have a number of bows and a chrony and "the archery program ". My bows are late model and fairly well tuned.

Now to my question. I have been drawn for an elk tag. My age etc. limits my draw weight to 55 pounds. I have been setting up several arrows to take for elk. At one end of the scale is a CE 200 with a 90 grain CE first cut travelling at 240 f/s on my chrony. At the other is a 2213 with the same head travelling at 213 f/s. The archery program show much the same results and gives each a KE rating of 45 fp. This seems a little shy for elk and ask your opinion on which would be better. Where I have been drawn is bush country so shots should be at 30 yards or less and my tag is for " any elk" .

Any comments on the subject would be appreciated.

Lionel

russ
July 30th, 2002, 11:16 PM
Not sure what to tell you, but with the cut on contact & the carbon arrow you "should" get better penetration. The belief is that the carbon shaft will flex less when it strikes the elk and therefore maintain it's energy better than the aluminum shaft. Personally, I think the carbon shaft & cut on contact point is a good choice depending on the choice of broadhead (I like the 110 gr. Bear Superlites myself)

robk
July 31st, 2002, 12:14 AM