Archery Talk Forum banner

Rookie and first bow

1K views 19 replies 16 participants last post by  mossyoakman 
#1 ·
I'm new to archery and want to buy my first bow so I can hunt next fall. I'm interested in buying a bow from the classified forum here, but I'm afraid I won't be able to properly set up the bow and buy the proper arrows without help.

As a rookie, would I be better off buying my first bow from a retail store with a good pro shop (Gander Mountain), and letting them walk me through everything? I've already spent nearly two hours talking to the two head guys there and I trust them.

I was hoping to save money buying used equipment here, but if I can't make it work then I'd be better off buying new from the store and getting their help.

#3 ·
I would go to a archery shop other than GM, Unless they have some better ones up in your area, the ones around here suck or the guys they got working in there, I have fixed more stuff that came from GM than you can imagine, I would go find out what draw length and draw weight you are comfortable with, buy a bow in those specs from the classifieds and go get it set up at a good archery shop, with expert people that have been doing that kind of stuff for most of there life, It would suck to go somewhere and get a bow set-up, spend all that money and still not be right, Just my $.02

#5 ·
Take it from someone that did the retail store thing. Buy it from a Archery shop or buy it here or ebay and then have a pro tune it. But like it was said before, Get you draw length.

I have learned so much from this forum, it's rediculous !!! Be patient and buy the right bow. The best thing is to go to a Archery shop and try out several kinds

#6 ·