PDA

View Full Version : Deisel truck repairs....

MoNofletch
February 23rd, 2009, 10:11 PM
The EGR valve went out on my Liberty CRD. It I didn't have the EXTENDED warranty it would have cost me almost $900!! Is that normal? Anyone know about these trucks? Dodge/Jeep mechanics?

spookit
February 23rd, 2009, 10:14 PM
probley:mg:

Slim37KS
February 23rd, 2009, 10:32 PM
The EGR valve went out on my Liberty CRD. It I didn't have the EXTENDED warranty it would have cost me almost $900!! Is that normal? Anyone know about these trucks? Dodge/Jeep mechanics?

Yes, Those things are buried and a pain to get to. Im a Chrysler Master tech for a dealer in Wichita, and I hate those little Italian diesels in those things. major pain to work on, everything is crammed in there tight as Im sure you can see. Gimme a Cummins anyday!
List price through Mopar on the valve is 290.00 depending how much the dealer marked it up through their pricing matrix it could have easliy been a 375.00 part. Customer pay labor time should have been about 4.5hrs + a possible 1.0 diag fee, most shops are running 90-100pr/hr so say 550.00 in labor that is 875.00 right there...so yea, sounds about right. Be glad its not a Cummins 6.7L, the valve alone is like 800.00

archerm3
February 24th, 2009, 08:02 AM
Yes, Those things are buried and a pain to get to. Im a Chrysler Master tech for a dealer in Wichita, and I hate those little Italian diesels in those things. major pain to work on, everything is crammed in there tight as Im sure you can see. Gimme a Cummins anyday!
List price through Mopar on the valve is 290.00 depending how much the dealer marked it up through their pricing matrix it could have easliy been a 375.00 part. Customer pay labor time should have been about 4.5hrs + a possible 1.0 diag fee, most shops are running 90-100pr/hr so say 550.00 in labor that is 875.00 right there...so yea, sounds about right. Be glad its not a Cummins 6.7L, the valve alone is like 800.00