PDA

View Full Version : Taxidermy Help

freeslinger
April 20th, 2009, 12:50 PM
My father-in-law does some taxidermy as a hobby. He is mounting a ram currently. The question is, do you have to remove the horns from the skull or not? He's been told yes and no. But I can't imagine the horns coming off... I could be wrong but I'm picturing the horn actually being hollow like a sheath for a knife. I don't see how it could be, but I'm not an expert. Please help.

09hoytkatera
April 20th, 2009, 01:00 PM
My dad has been a taxidermist for the 41 years that I have been alive. What kind of am are you talking about? I have seen lots of Bighorn sheep mounts. Rocky Mountain and Desert both. He always takes the horns off the skull to clean them and boil the skull. There is a membrane or layer of meat between the skull and the actuall horn just like an Antelope.

scrapewatcher
April 20th, 2009, 02:04 PM
the horn is not hollow. it has a core. it needs to be boiled and cleaned. do not submerge the horns. if you do you will see discoloration. wrape the base of the horns with aluminum wrap and submurge mabe 1/4 to i/2 of the horn. boil with a solution of water and a little bit of tide detergeant. periodaclly remove the horns and try to wiggle the horns. after awhile the suction will break and the horn will break free. side the horn off and you'll see what i'm talking about. tag each horn left and right and mark the core where the horn started after the core is cleaned.

freeslinger
April 20th, 2009, 02:31 PM
I think it's a Mouflon (sp?) Ram. We've tried to boil it but couldn't get it to budge... We'll try the covering with foil method. What's the ratio of detergent to water?

Thanks for the help, guys.

scrapewatcher
April 20th, 2009, 03:11 PM
I think it's a Mouflon (sp?) Ram. We've tried to boil it but couldn't get it to budge... We'll try the covering with foil method. What's the ratio of detergent to water?