Archery Talk Forum banner

broadhead tuning

592 views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  a1shooter 
#1 ·
Is broadhead tuning the final answer? That is if you get broadheads and field points grouping together at multiple yardages, then that means the bow is tuned and nothing else really matters, right.

#2 ·
I'm far from an expert, but yes for me it is my final step, even though my nock point is high now. I had to move my rest down and away from my riser.
Since I started out shooting bullet holes, I figure its not now. But you know what, I really don't care what a piece of paper says, as long as my broadheads and field pts are the same at all distances I'm good to go.

#3 ·
If you are primarily a hunter then the answer is yes. Good arrow flight is still important as it plays a major role in penetration. If your broadheads and field points have the same POI and you are getting good arrow flight then you are done. If not then you still have a little tuning to do.

#4 ·
For me as well. When I get fixed blade BH's field points hitting the same with good arrow flight, the the walkback is good - I usually quit.

#5 ·
Yep. When I find centershot I then get bh's & fp's shooting the same poi and that is where I stop tuning and start practicing.

#6 ·
My thoughts on this from another thread

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=918146 post # 7 from this link.

Question

#1 May 8th, 2009, 02:13 PM
jds-1
Registered User Join Date: Nov 2007

Broadhead tuning question for you all

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When you do this are you suspose to shoot a field tip then a broadhead and just keep rotating every other shot and move your rest and sights accordingly?

I'm sighted in with field tips out to 50 yds but when I screw in a Broadhead (Wasp SST Hammer 100 grain)they shoot high (about 2") and right (about 3") from 40-50 yds.

Answer

Today, 02:09 AM
a1shooter
Brokest of the broke! Join Date: Mar 2009