Thread: Arrow looks to be fish tailing

Arrow looks to be fish tailing

i set up and tuned my 07 reflex (see below) and seams to shoot fairly well..

every now and then i can see rear end of the arrow fish tailing

this is not happening every shot.. quit often, but not every time.

ive re tuned it. checked vane clearance and center shot. everything seams to be working well and in spec (mind you im a novice tuner, and novice shooter, 3 yrs shooting, 1.5 yrs tuning)

im wondering if there is a way to tell if its my form or the bow that is causing a fishtail..

thanks guys!
    -2007 Bowtech Allegiance -

Easy.....the bow would do it every time! Problably hand torque my guess....Could this be true?

Have you tried bare shafts? They accent issues.

i havnt done any bare shaft.. ill give it a shot tomorow

obviously ill chuck some bare shafts through my paper and see if i get tares..

at first i was hoping it was hand tq so ive been making a large effort in shooting with a relaxed open left hand,, and the grip is seated firmly in the crotch of my thumb and index finger but it still seams to do it (guess this would be a problem with the shooting section, not tuning section.. )

so ideally, if out of 10 arrows,, only one shoots perfect.. 9 fish tail.. i should look at my form..

if all 10 fish tailed .. i need to re tune my bow..

Arrow looks to be fish tailing

The number of arrows you put forth with bad flight does not tell if it's you or your bow needing tuned. The bow is in tune or it's not. You're torquing or you're not and possible alternating. Not saying either is that. Read on.

Most arrows have corrected their flight at approx. 12 to 15 yards, unless really the bow is badly out of tune or possibly badly fletched arrows.

Some shooters, sometimes and a lot, can see their arrow rotating and beings the cock vane is of another color the shooter sees the other vanes. Thus, giving a fishing tailing effect or cork screwing.