Thread: How long will my feeder battery last?

How long will my feeder battery last?

This is my first year to hunt using a corn feeder. I got one from a friend to use, and I just replaced the 6 volt battery. I've got it set to spread morning and evening on medium setting. It's just a standard timer that runs on a AA battery.

My question is how long can I expect the 6 volt battery to last in the cold weather? And, what brand or type 6 volt battery do you guys use or recommend. Do those little solar panel rechargeable things really work? Anyone recommend them?

Thanks for any advice, and good hunting to everyone.

I set mine to feed twice a day on high for about 6 to 8 seconds with moultree rechargable batteries and usually get about 2 weeks out of them. as far as the solar panels I found they work well if your in a cutover with full sun but in the woods with little direct sunlight it doesn't work that well.

I've tried all the batteries and found that the Rayovac will last longest at about a month and a half feeding twice a day on high for 6 seconds. I got tired of replacing batteries and got a solar panel with a rechargable Remington battery. I gets about 3 hours of direct sun a day and every time I fill my feeder the battery indicator shows full charge. That's been since July. Hope that helps.
    Mathews DXT
    Mathews Reezen 6.5
    Rytera Alien X
    GIVE ME AN ARMY OF WEST POINT GRADUATES, AND I'LL WIN A BATTLE. GIVE ME A HANDFUL OF TEXAS AGGIES, AND I'LL WIN A WAR" ~ General George S. Patton

Solar panels are definitely the way to go if enough sun penetrates the canopy of trees to keep it going. Mine are set up where there is very little direct sun but it is enough to keep the battery charged. On a standard 6v battery I averaged a new battery about every 6 weeks.
    2010 Elite Judge, Spot Hogg Hogg-it Sight, QAD Ultra HD rest, Paradigm SOS Stabilizer,