Thread: Can sit still

Can sit still

Ok this is my first year at this and I have been told that if I cant sit still I will not be allowed to go back with my boyfriend. I have asked a couple guys at work on some suggestions and they have said that I need to be in a blind verus out in the open for my first year. I have tired to sit still but when I do that I get sleepy. Does anyone else have this problem or have any suggestions??

You could always setup your own stand and kill a big buck... and then rub it in and tell him that he needs to learn how to sit still

Actually, I have the same issue, I can't sit still and I have to stay busy. If there isn't squirrels playing or deer in the field I have a tough time. I usually send txt messages or play games on my phone. But the last hour of shooting light i'm on full alert and try not to move at all.

When you are looking around, try not to swing your head around as much... look around with your eyes and move your head little by little, that will minimize your head movement in the stand.

Hope that helps and best of luck!!

Ive gotten this about several times myself, but never threatened to be left at home. I just have to see everything! I too take my blackberry and that keeps me focused in one area and my ears alert, but still put it away and total focus on the woods the last 1.5 hours.

Good advice from HuntNWOHIO. No one can sit perfectly still the whole time. You just have to learn to move REALLY slowly, if you are not in a blind. My first season I got busted all the time by smart does because they would always see me before I saw them. I guess I would be moving and then when I saw them, they would be looking at me and saw me moving. Also, the last deer that I harvested paid no attention to his surroundings. I don't know how long he had been in front of me before I noticed him. I had been moving because I was getting restless since it was getting close to time to get down.