Thread: Do you serve your loops with serving thread?

Do you serve your loops with serving thread?

I have been making my strings for a couple years and use #3 BCY serving thread for my loops. This may be right or wrong but this is what I do. To make a good set strings and cable, it takes me several hours. I thought I would try a set of factory strings and ordered a set from vapor trail. I notice on the loops they don't use serving thread but wrap the loops with what looks like bow string material. Is this a common practice for good string makers. Does anyone else do this?

Hoyt 38 Pro, Hoyt xtec, Hoyt Spyder
    Shrewd Sight and Scope, HHA
    Trophy Taker drop rest, Doinker stablizers
    Carter Index release, Tru-ball back tension
    Easton eclipse, carbon express

Quote Originally Posted by Hoyt1945 View Post
    I have been making my strings for a couple years and use #3 BCY serving thread for my loops. This may be right or wrong but this is what I do. To make a good set strings and cable, it takes me several hours. I thought I would try a set of factory strings and ordered a set from vapor trail. I notice on the loops they don't use serving thread but wrap the loops with what looks like bow string material. Is this a common practice for good string makers. Does anyone else do this?
    I think it depends on the method you use to lay out and tie off your strings. The method I use allows the use of the tag ends of the string material to be used to serve the end loops. This is the method taught on the BCY video that I use to learn the process a couple years ago. I don't think either method is better than the other. The whole point is to keep the strands bundled together to make installation and adjustment easier.
    Owner of Pathfinder Arrow Wraps
    Athens Archery Factory Shooting Staff