Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will my TAURUS Judge kill a bear?

Will my TAURUS Judge kill a bear?

I bouth this revlver a few weeks ago and I enjoy it. It shoots 410(scatter, slug and buck shot) as well as 45 Long Colt

I was wondering how the gun would do if I needed to defend myself against a bear.

Which would be the most effective ammo for such a thing?

I did not even know what a 45 long colt was prior to the purchase. Is it the same size as a 45 auto? Is it bigger or smaller than a 44 Mag?

Thanx for the info, Im still relatively new to the pistol/handgun world.

It does relate to archery hunting, because it will likely be my sidearm during the fall archery season.
    Mathews Switchback XT and Darton Vapor 70# @ 28"Wisker Biscuit Rest, Sims stab.
    Viper Sights, Gold Tip arrows, NAP Spitfires/ Slick Tricks.

I have the same gun and it most definitely will kill a bear!!! Hornady makes their lever evolution ammo for the 45 colt and that is by far your best choice followed by .410 slugs. I carry mine for trout fishing first 2 shots are .410 9 shot for snakes followed by 3 .45 colt for bears!

I sometimes carry it during archery season with the same loading sequence, I figure the .410 outta be enough to get the bear, coyote, etc. attention and if not the 45 colt is only 3 trigger pulls away!!! However most of the time I carry my Kel Tec P3AT (.380) simply because it small and will make enough noise to scare off a bear, as thats likely all that will be neaded for a black bear!
    Elite Answer
    Dead Center Archery Bowhunting Staff Triple Toe Game Calls Pro Staff

I would love to have a judge at my side. Not sure if it would be enough for a Grizzly but
    will be nice for all the other not so friendlys in the hills.
    Operator of "The cutest little archery shop in Wyoming"

Who knew this is where we would be the first time somebody stretched a string on a stick.

good question