Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mathews Reezen tuning problems?

Red face Mathews Reezen tuning problems?

I am a newbie here but wanted to ask-- anyone have any issues with tuning a Reezen? I am buying one and my local shop has indicated that they have had problems with this bow. Just looking for opinions and thoughts. Thanks for your help.

Yes they do tune way inside. If the shooter has an inside grip it will be almost impossible to tune. This has become an issue with almost all mathews since the switchback and every year they seem to tune farther and farther inside. Great bows as far as build quality goes and they have the advertising down, but as far as being the best bows built i don't think they are even close. Some of the best quality in the industry but i get a headache everytime a customer brings in a mathews from down the road because they can see their arrows kicking and then we have to try to get their grip good so the bows will tune close to centershot. leaning the idler can only do so much.
    Tech at Big Sky Archery, Factory staff for Black Gold Premium Bowsights, Ripcord Arrow Rests, and Tight Spot Quivers

Alot of Mathews seem to be really picky about spine. Too stiff or weak and forget it. If you have your idler set right and correct spine they should all tune pretty close to 13/16" though. Get rid of that chunk of wood they have for a grip though and get something much slimmer and you'll have alot easier time tuning. I can't remember what grip the Reezen has but the Z7 finally has a pretty decent grip. Most older models have awful grips that take perfect form to avoid torquing.
    Speed is fine. Accuracy is final.

I was using blazers and had to have my cock feather out the side to avoid cable contact. After I found the problem my friend who shoot dxt's noticed theywere getting a little bit of cable contact as well. Switchback is a much nicer design. IMO.