Page 1 of 28 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: My whitetail deer hunting advice to you

My whitetail deer hunting advice to you

I'm starting this thread to share my lifes learnings in hopes that what I share may make you more effective and successful as whitetail deer hunters. This is going to be a long running thread where I'm going to cover topics about everything I have learned from almost 40 years of obsessive whitetail deer hunting. I'm not going to read anyones response to any of the post until I'm completely through with the thread, It could take months to write. I will write about things you've read about and many you have not. Hopefully, I will have something to share with everyone of you that will make you more successful as whitetail deer hunters. As my hunting carreer is winding down I wanted to make sure what I learned was passed along. A basic outline of what I want to cover is outlined below. Keep in mind that I tend to get off course at times so bare with me. I'm not a professional writer, so please forgive me on my grammar. Hunting whitetail deer to me is like playing the ultimate game of chess to maximize your chances of success. I want to cover many of these topics of interest in no particular order.

*Stages of the rut and hunting each
    *Strategic stand placement
    *Reading deer sign and behavior
    *scrape lines
    *Calling deer
    *Gimmicks use
    *Hunting pressured deer
    *Hunting from the ground
    *Bedding areas/feeding areas/travel corridors
    *Equipment selection
    *Baiting
    *Playing the wind

I'll add in some short stories along the way to reinforce what I'm trying to project. Read the thread if you want, if your not interested in what I have to say just don't read the thread. It is going to be my little project for the summer and early fall.

Im all eyes. Type away

PRIME BOWS- WHERE ACCURACY IS EVERYTHING

MOON SHINE ATTITUDE ATTIRE- GET YOUR SHINE ON!!

Quote Originally Posted by mikecs4life View Post