Archery Talk Forum banner

Bow Speeds vs Smooth Draw _What's Your Opinion? -Ted Nugent and TM Talk

35K views 64 replies 54 participants last post by  fryedaddy 
#1 ·
Bows Speed vs Smooth Draw -What’s your opinion-Nugent and TM

I have been designing compound bows since 1972 and still learn more everyday.
As demand and material change – so do the bows
Ted and I got a chance to talk and express our opinion in a recent meeting this month. Ted’s opinion “I can’t go in to a shop and buy the bow I want to shoot”
Many dealers do not carry lighter weight bows.
As most of you know the demand for speed has been the driving force behind most bows on the market today. Here is the problem. When most try a bow they are in a store at a comfortable 75 degrees on a flat floor standing in a normal position.
Most will feel good drawing a 60 to 70 pound bow with high performance cans.
When you are in the field it will usually anything but the perfect conditions.
Many find themselves unable to draw the bow in cold conditions, muscles that have been still for some time and in an awkward position trying to shoot under a branch or other object. So many are not even able to draw their bows when the trophy is in front of them.
Can you draw your bow in any conditions and positions?
Ted feels that dealers and archers would be wise to have bows in stock that have smoother draws with less extreme drop off.
It is true that many experienced archers, including my 87 year old father, have never hunted with a bow over 55#
What is your opinion? Would you like the option of a smoother cam with less draw weight if the bow still maintains a good speed.
As Ted says –He has taken every animal out there with around 50# draw bows.
(note – the bows Ted shoots are not backed off to 50 pounds but are build to be at peak performance at those weights.
We can build any cam –even ones that have no let off but what is really best?
Would you like the option of a Silk smooth cam if the speed is a little less FPS?