Thread: Can use my fingers to shoot a regular Compound Bow?

Can use my fingers to shoot a regular Compound Bow?

Forgive my noob question. But I am new at bow hunting and I want to learn all I can before I go out into the field.
    A friend sold me his Fred Bear Whitetail surpreme bow. It is currently set at a 30 draw length and draw weight is 60 lbs. I tried using a trigger bow release, but after a coulple of accidental releases I am scared to use one now. I feel more secure using my fingers to draw. My question is will there be any long term negative effects on my fingers? Also yes I do use a archers glove. Thanks

you can use a glove but you wont get the accuracy and consistance not to much sore fingers, get a good trigger release and make sure to keep your finger behind the trigger until you are ready to fire, just like a gun (keep on "safe" and finger off trigger til ready to fire)

I just read an interview with Chuck Adams. He said he uses a tab because it is faster to shoot (nock an arrow and draw and fire) than a release. He also added that at the distances he shoots his accuracy is not affected that much.

There is nothing wrong with using your fingers. I like it much more and it makes me feel more connected with the bow. There is a "Finger Shooting" section with a lot of very helpful, experienced folks, far more so than myself.

The one thing I will say is, don't let finger shooting be your crutch or excuse for being a mediocre shot. If you really want to shoot fingers, put the time in & I think you'll find it very rewarding.

i shot fingers for years before going to a release. i started with a glove but after calouses built up i ditched the glove so i could have a better feel for the bow. but that was 25 years ago i prefer a release with modern technology