a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best blood trailing dog breed?

Best blood trailing dog breed?

I'm about to invest in a good deer tracking dog. I am color blind and have a terrible time finding a blood trail, much less staying on it when I do find it. So I think I may break on down and get one. Any of ya'll have any good ones? What breed do you think would be the best at this? I am a veterinarian, and I have heard of several breeds that are used from beagles to daschunds to labs. Want some info before I break down and get one.

Wiener dogs

I have heard that Jack Russell's are good.
    Gage Brock
    Idaho
    www.huntersjourneymagazine.com

I have heard that German wire-haired dachshunds are one of the best at blood tracking. I know of several women hunters that have trained these dogs to blood track and they are extremely adapt.

im interested to know as well.
    Mathews Monster Mr7 Red Smoke

Basset hound, There just a short blood hound.

I have beagles.They make great family dogs.Easy to train to trail blood.There are several breeds that will make great blood dogs and family pets.

What about labs?
    -Brian

I would imagine any sporting dog would do well, just depends on drive and training.

Regardless of the breed, buy a pup bred for the purpose.

There are a bunch of Labs that won't fetch a feather.

Here is a great book on the subject.http://www.born-to-track.com/book/order-info.htm

John Jeanneney uses Wirehaired Dachshunds, from German lines, but there are other breeds that are purpose bred for blood tracking, like the Bavarian Mountain Hound.

The breeding, is more important than the breed. The breeding should have been based on selection for ability, not because the Sire and Dam "have papers".
    Rytera Bullet-X (Nitrous-X).
    Goldtip Xt Hunter/NAP Spitfire, G5 Striker.

Quote Originally Posted by Shelby View Post
    .....I don't want to continue to argue over AR.....