a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">

Thread: Accuracy: Longbow or Recurve

Accuracy: Longbow or Recurve

Which one is more accurate? I have been shooting a recurve for about three years now, I want to get another bow, thinking about getting a longbow instead of recurve...what is more accurate, longbow or recurve. Also, what are some pros and cons of the longbow vs. recurve

Hoyt Vectrix
    Quinn Stallion Classic
    Quinn Comet XL
    "Hunting inside a fence, think about it, that's an oxy-moron" flyboy718

at 10 paces or 11?

Quote Originally Posted by lovebumper_2020 View Post
    at 10 paces or 11?
    uuuuhhhh...20-25 yards max.
    Hoyt Vectrix
    Quinn Stallion Classic
    Quinn Comet XL

Granola CA What ain't fruits and nuts is flakes
    Given properly set up bows and properly tuned arrows, accuracy is up to the nut behind behind the wheel. BUT there are some things that can make accuracy easier to achieve with a recurve. For the sake of simplicity we'll leave out wood arrows and assume that both bows will be using a synthetic shaft. If we're just shooting off the shelf then there is no reason that they can't both be equally accurate. The recurve may weigh a little more which helps, but usually that is an advantage that doesn't show up until one becomes at least a decent shooter. The recurve will generally have a larger arrow pass/sight window area which can help. In the past most longbows weren't cut to centershot, but now it is possible find longbows built that way. Recurves have been built that way for quite some time. The closer the cut to center, tuning becomes easier. If we're not limitting ourselves to shooting off the shelf, and can go to a recurve with a metal riser, an elevated rest, plunger button, stabilizers, and a sight, things generally not found on longbows, then the recurve begins to pull ahead in the accuracy department. But then it is beginning to become a function of the accessories.