Thread: Peep sight location?

Peep sight location?

I am new to bow hunting and want to get into setting up my own bow, so I have a question. How do you determine the peep sight location? Thanks

I believe the "standard" length from the nocking point to the peep is about 5.5". That's a good place to start and then just adjust from there accordingly.

On a new bow (different string angle) I usually close my eyes and draw the bow back. When I'm at my normal anchor point I open my eyes and have someone mark the string where my line of sight naturally lines up. Might have to move it a tic up or down from that initial starting point but it will be very close.

After I get a bow set up I'll take measurements of the nocking point and peep location if I'm going to change the string.
    Steve

"It's a Navy Seal type bow. It works by pulling it back and shooting it."

Quote Originally Posted by mn5503 View Post
    On a new bow (different string angle) I usually close my eyes and draw the bow back. When I'm at my normal anchor point I open my eyes and have someone mark the string where my line of sight naturally lines up. Might have to move it a tic up or down from that initial starting point but it will be very close.

After I get a bow set up I'll take measurements of the nocking point and peep location if I'm going to change the string.
    Bingo...draw the bow eyes closed and come to a consistent anchor...when you open your eyes the peep sight should be perfectly aligned. If it isn't, then slide it up or down accordingly.

Thanks guys I knew I would get some good answers. This web site provides great information. Make you wonder what we did before the internet.

Quote Originally Posted by ungawa View Post
    Thanks guys I knew I would get some good answers. This web site provides great information. Make you wonder what we did before the internet.
    Trial and error

Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post