Thread: Grizzly Recurve any good?

Grizzly Recurve any good?

Hey all, I'm trying to get into archery and I think I've settled on going traditional. I've been eyeballing the 2011 Grizzly from Bear Bows. I'm simply looking for opinions on this bow from some experienced shooters.

Thank you!

Don't know boutthe newer ones but I love and collect the older models.

i actually just bought a grizzly recurve Thursday. its my first recurve so i cant really compare it aginst other brands and models. its not all that loud i didnt even need to put on string silencers. if you do it will probably take out some of the hand shock but its not really that bad. good shooting so far and i love it. the guy at the pro shop told me since i would be hunting with it he recommended going with a wood riser instead of aluminium. flings the arrow pretty fast from what i can tell but im no professional.

Hey Nathan, I dont know how far your draw length will be on a recurve but if you're just starting out with recurves......I would suggest something a little longer, the Grizzly is 58 inches. The Grizzly is a good bow [dont know much about the new ones], but you could get a Samick Sage for about 130 bucks [62 inches]. It would be an economical way to learn, then after you get your form down you could go shorter. Also, you can get into an ILF setup cheaper than a new Grizzly. Not trying to sway you but I think you would be better off at first...with a longer bow, and I wouldn't get over 40 lbs to begin with. You can get a Hoyt Excel riser with T-rex limbs for under 300 bucks. The good thing about the ILF is you could upgrade in limbs later ,and not have to change risers. Also, later if you change risers, limbs, whatever, they will all interchange. But, everyone is different....you may prefer a wood rider bow, and if you do I would recommend the Samick Sage....shoots a lot better than the price reveals.