Thread: What is an average price to restring a bow?

What is an average price to restring a bow?

I just traded for a Hoyt Vipertech and the draw length is about 1-1/2" to 2" to long for me. Unfortunately I have the spiral 1-1/2 cams and the only way to adjust the length is with a new string. Which is probably ok, since the string is showing signs of wear anyway.

So how much do they usually cost to have replaced?

I'm a newbie at this, does the bow need to be retuned afterwords?

$40-$100

shouldnt you get a new cam for the dl you need, is he going to short string it that much?
    2010 Elite GT500
    Wac'em Broadheads www.wacemarchery.com/

you would also need new cams. spirals are draw length specific cams. trying to short string the bow that much is going to cause all kinds of tuning issues. the combination of new cams and strings is going to cost more than the bow is worth in my opinion.

$120 or more around here at a proshop. I charge $100 and that's if I have to get the strings and cables.

I dont know, do I need a new cam?

Quote Originally Posted by burtonridr View Post
    I dont know, do I need a new cam?
    I would say you need a new cam and string, $50 for cams, $100 for strings, you might want to see if you can take it back if it was a shop you got it from.
    2010 Elite GT500

you will need a new cam and your poundage may change
    Ultratec w/ spirals 80# 30" Ultratec w/ c+ 70# 30" Supertec 70# 30"
    Samick deer slayer arrow flinger

Quote Originally Posted by OR Archer1 View Post
    you would also need new cams. spirals are draw length specific cams. trying to short string the bow that much is going to cause all kinds of tuning issues. the combination of new cams and strings is going to cost more than the bow is worth in my opinion.
    Oh that sucks.... Maybe I can find a trade on CL, I'm sure the odds of finding someone with the right draw length are not good

When I got the bow I thought it had the adjustable cams.