Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Does eating too much wild game cause gout?

Does eating too much wild game cause gout?

Has anyone on AT had gout? What causes it? What are the symptoms? How old are most men when they begin to suffer from gout? If I have it, how can I get rid of it? Thanks!

You can't shoot a big one if you shoot a little one first.
    You can't shoot anything if you aren't out trying.

your'e scarring me Will. i've been eating nothing but deer and elk for 2 months straight.
    "The Arrow is everything"
    "Never Give Up........Ever"
    "I Call, They Come, I Kill Them" Gregg Stevens
    "Not all Elk Encounters are Created Equal" Paul Medel aka ElkNut1
    "The Rockies are no place to find out you are not in shape" Trophyhill

Gout is caused by high levels of Uric acid that builds up in the joints. High levels of Uric Acid have been linked to eating "organ" meat. Symptoms are joint pain usually accompanied by swelling. Usually seen in individuals over 50 but this does not mean younger people can't have it. Diet and genetics can play a role. If you think you have Gout I suggest you see your doctor since there are medications that you can take to reduce your level of Uric Acid.
    2014 Elite Energy 35 Xtra #70/2013 Elite Answer AP #70/B-Stinger 10.25 APG 8 oz.
    TightSpot APG / Easton ACC Pro Hunter 340/ 100gr Grim Reaper Razortips
    Tru Ball Beast Release/ HHA DS-5519/CBE Tek Hybrid / Limbdriver Pro-V

Sounds like an ad for a pharmaceutical company. But, yes its exactly how dwagaman said. It isn't something to mess with. That's why I don't eat any animal organs.

Quote Originally Posted by bowhntng4evr View Post
    Sounds like an ad for a pharmaceutical company. But, yes its exactly how dwagaman said. It isn't something to mess with. That's why I don't eat any animal organs.
    wheewwwwwwwwwh, i think i'll be ok. organs never did appeal to me.
    "The Arrow is everything"
    "Never Give Up........Ever"