Thread: Beginner Recurve

Beginner Recurve

Good afternoon all. I'm rather new to archery, and am interested in buying a recurve. While I don't have a ton of experience, I have fired both compound and recurve and prefer recurve due to compounds having the let off. I find it easier to aim with constant tension as opposed to the let off.
    Still, even though I have my preference, I am eager to learn and am open to other points of view. It seems that there are many of you here that really know what you're talking about and have a great deal of experience.
    As a first question, do any of you have any advice on a beginner recurve and arrows? I'm 6'2", 175lbs and of thin to athletic build, with a draw length of 30". As far as I know, I would prefer a 50-70lb draw. I should be going to Cabela's within the next few weeks to try some out, so I'm wondering what to look at. My budget is $300-$400 at most, but once I have some experience under my belt, I would like to upgrade to a better bow for the long run, and eventually a reflex bow. Mainly I am looking for an inexpensive, yet good quality recurve to start with.

You might be athletic as am I but I got talked into a #50 bow (to hunt) by a compound friend in January. Shot about 100 arrows a day the first Fri., Sat. and Sun. Tuesday my left shoulder joint was all messed up ( I'm right handed). Got advice here and was told to go much lighter to develop good form and not struggle to control the bow. It was great advice! Have been shooting #26 hoyt horizon and will soon be moving to #34 limbs. Shot 260 at 20 yds. on a 40 cm target this past Sunday. My shoulders are not weak as I do work out and have been flapping my arms for 29 years six hours a day band directing. I really think a lighter bow to start is the only way to go!