Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to Gap Shoot

How to Gap Shoot

Or at least how I do it.........Arrowsong ask on another thread about aiming and shooting at different distances - instead of burying it there I thought a new thread would be in order. Now I am no expert, but I have found a method that is pretty easy to do and works for me - I did not come up with it and do not claim as much and if it works for you great, if not that's fine too.

To set my gaps I like to take a piece of masking tape about 3' long and place it on the target butt vertically. Then I like to add cross pieces about 6" long at about 8" intervals so I have a vertical line with several cross pieces. I start off at 10 yards, pre-aiming at the top X as described in a prior post - draw back, make note of where the point intersects the vertical tape mark, then focus back on the top X and execute the shot. I'll take several shots until I am confident that the group is representative. Then I write down the measurement and move back 5 yards and repeat until I have marks to 40 yards my point on distance. Beyond that the same concept works but you hold over instead of under.

I shoot 3 under with a middle finger to corner of mouth anchor. A higher would reduce gaps, lower will increase them.

Now here's the good part about knowing and having smallish gaps: My gaps are 16"@10yds, 20"@15yds, 24"@20yds, 20"@25yds, 8"@35 and Point on at 40.

As you can see from 15-25 yards are nearly the same gap - and also the most common distances for hunting and at most 3D's.