Archery Talk Forum banner

Martin Onza Speed Test with suprising results

5K views 24 replies 16 participants last post by  wscywabbit 
#1 ·
I got a chance to retest the speed of the Martin Onza 3. The bow was set at 70lbs, 30" draw, and i am shooting a 350 grain arrow. I shot the bow for several days through the chrono to verify the results. I also shot my NBA Nemesis and Invasion to make sure the chrono was reading correctly. Here is the video showing the results I got:

#4 ·
What was so different between the bows you used to do the reviews? I always thought that a 70lb pull was a 70lb pull and a 30" draw length was a 30" draw length? What was so different? Will a bow that may have been setup out of square cause a BIG difference in speed and performance? It may be a stupid question, but I'm fairly new to archery and I'm curious as to why the two bows were that far off. Great review and I have watched a few of your reviews and find them to be pretty spot on compared to what I find when I do look at a bow that you have reviewed. Great job on the reviews! Keep up the good work!

#7 ·
The bow in my original review was set at 70lbs and 27.5" draw. I can't recall the arrow weight. I speed tested the bow at those specs and the results were to low for it to hit IBO when I did the calculations.

Very impressive. Ike did you measure the DL and DW or go by what Martin told you?
Impressive speed none the less.
I measured both. The bow was at 30" and 71lbs. I backed it down to 70lbs for the test. I said the bow was maxed out but I backed it down a 1/4 turn which is what I do to any bow. I never shoot one with the limbs tightened all the way down

Ike you metion in the video a couple times that the draw is "maxed out". The Onza goes to 30.5" in draw length, so was it maxed out at 30.5" or set to 30". Thank you.