Thread: Difference between a Compound bow and a Recurve bow??

Difference between a Compound bow and a Recurve bow??

Hi All,

I am doing some research on bows and I am a complete newbie, have never shot an arrow ever so had following questions:

1) What is the difference between Compound bow and Recurve ? why would you select either one?
    2) Can a Recurve be your first bow ?
    3) I like Recurve bows more than Compound bows.. looks wise.. so what are the beginner, inexpensive Recurve bows ?

Thanks in advance.

Compounds are more powerful to put it in a simple way. They are faster, quieter and easier to shoot accurately due to let off and the way they are set up. Recurves are very simple in the way they are made. Sometimes just a ''stickbow''.... Recurves dont have cams therefore there is no let-off. Let-off is what is produced when a cam rolls over in the valley. Let-off allows you to hold a percentage of weight at full draw as opposed to the max draw weight. This enables one to hold and aim longer when using a compound. I could explain this all day so ill allow someone else to chime in and help out...

Probably the best thing to do would be to go down to your local archery shop and try a few out. See which one you like best and ask the pros there which they would recommend. It helped me out. =]

I am planning to try out archery next week at the Pro shop.

Thanks for the replies..