Thread: Help a Newb to pick a low draw weight bow - 25-30#? (and arrow advice)

Question Help a Newb to pick a low draw weight bow - 25-30#? (and arrow advice)

Hello all - I'm a newbie who's been lurking and trying to get educated. I've been bitten by the traditional bow bug and would like to get started the right way - which means if I take the great advice offered here - is to put the ego on hold! So fire away and correct or direct me in the right direction - I'm willing to listen .

1. I plan on starting right with good habits and have a book on order (Viper’s) – but delivery is painfully slow.

2. Never shot before.

3. Goal - Looking to have fun shooting targets and stump shooting. Possibly deer and feral hog hunting.

4. 6'2" 225lbs (but just off hernia surgery 4 months ago - so trying to limit any abdominal strain for the next 6-8 months).

5. Draw Length: I live in a rural area so visiting an archery center isn't an easy option. I've tried four different methods. From these I'm going to assume I'll settle in a bit after practice and arrive at a safe average length of 29 1/2". What do you think? Methods and measurements as follows:
    - 29" (using a yardstick held center of chest and extending fingertips out)
    - 28.8" (72" wingspan divided by 2.5)
    - 28.5" (72" wingspan divided by 15 then divided by 2)
    - 30.5" (draw length measured on a friends 54" long recurve - not too confident in this measurement though)

5. Draw Weight - From reading good advice here, I am willing to choose a light draw weight. I get a little obsessive about mastering stuff - so I would literally like to shoot for an hour or more at a time. I see 30-35# was a good starting point. I was thinking of a bow with 25# risers to start off. From my above draw length, I am estimating from adding anywhere from 3-6# of draw weight to any bow I start with... Thus, 25# + 3-6# = 28-31# final weight. So get the 25# or 30# limbs - or???