Archery Talk Forum banner

Split limb and Parallel limbs... is there a difference?

19K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  Bongos 
#1 ·
Hello All,

Fairly new to Compound bows, been shooting a PSE recurve for the last few weeks and at the range cant help but notice all of the advanced compound bows. Yesterday, I shooting next to a few Gents whom had Hoyt Alphas. Being an engineer by trade, I went home and did the research, to my understanding the split limb and parallel limb are two different technology (parallel being the improvement) ... but I cant find any info the specific improvement... possibly the parallel bows are shorter.. Any help is appreciated, I am afraid I got bitten by the bug and seriously thinking of getting one.. I kinda like the Maxxis/Alpha but their is a nice PSE BowMadness as well... luckily I have this forum and an old friend whom is heavily into Archery (though his technical information is in the recurves and with compound it's 5 or more years behind the time.. he was smart enough to tell me to make sure I know my draw lenght, etc before selecting a used bow as most if not all compound are custom fit to the shooter). Any information and advise is appreciated in advance..

#2 ·
Parallel limbs refer to the top limb being parallel to the bottom limb.

Split-limbs refer to actually having 2 limbs each on the top and bottom and bottom as compared with one solid limb.

Does that make sense?

Kev

#3 ·
Thanks Kev,

Yes, I see it does makes sense... is there any advantages outside of the apparent smaller package with the parallel limbs

#4 ·
Less forward shock or feel at shot. Force goes up and down. It has helped me with target panic or so called the yips.

#5 ·