Thread: Heavy arrows and compound bows?

Heavy arrows and compound bows?

Hello all,

I am new to compounds and have a question about heavy arrows. I usually shoot longbows and recurves with heavier arrows - around 11-12g per pound. I like the heavier arrows because they really quiet down a bow and reduce vibration. Also I am only shooting around 15-20 yards due to the thicker field/forest environment where I hunt.

So my question is does the same apply to compounds? Would there be any advantage in terms of reducing noise to shooting a heavy arrow since the range in this case would be limited with a "long" shot being 25 yards? Also, is there a point of diminishing returns with arrow weight where there is no difference in noise reduction but performance starts to really suffer?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

thanks,
    Tom.

Heavier arrows definately quiet down the bow. People have different views on what a heavy arrow is I like a hunting arrow that is 425 to 500 grains and I only shoot 60lbs. Some think that is really heavy some shoot heavier.
    GET SERIOUS GET HOYT

Heavy arrows will quiet the bow down and produce more kinetic energy.

Sent from "dumb redneck" using "smartphone"
    }--------->@<---------{

Heavier arrows will quiet the bow and produce more KE and momentum than lighter arrows, assuming the bow is tuned properly. There is no point of "diminishing returns" in performance, at least not in any testing that I have done up to 1500 grains of arrow weight. Of course "heavy" depends on your own bow and it's specs, and the distances you will be shooting. You will need to decide for yourself how heavy of an arrow you want to shoot before the trajectory of the arrow becomes an issue at the distances you will be shooting. I'd advise playing around with a few different arrow weights and different distances to see what you think.
    archeryreport.com: BOWS, ARROWS, PHYSICS AND MORE!
    Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about