Thread: Darton 1987 MX-30, manual or help?

Darton 1987 MX-30, manual or help?

Archers,

G'day! New old guy here, just starting over. I was a fair shot when I was in school, and recently retired, I just got a "new" old compound bow from somebody's attic. I am a rank noob on this technology, and some help would be appreciated here. A manual (or a copy) for this bow would be great. Darton can't/won't help, there. I know I need to learn a lot, just to ask an intelligent question, but right now, I think I just need some basics, to start:

Darton 1987 MX-30 (~45% relaxation)

What is the pull (in pounds) for this bow?

Darton said to get a B-50 bowstring (with end loops). Okay, but I see many different B-50 bowstrings (with following letters and numbers). I don't want Dyneema or other exotic string, just a decent 33" bowstring for practice. Can anybody recommend a good retailer?

I have only the cams that came in the bow for now, and Darton has no spares available. How do I determine (in physical terms) the draw length of the bow that I have now? Being a rather normal six-foot (183cm) guy, what draw length should I have? How would I measure my personal "draw length?"

The cams appear to have several pivot points available, which (I'd expect) would change the draw strength or draw length (or some other physical characteristic) of the bow. Any advice (or diagrams) concerning these optional pivot points would be appreciated.

Thanks for any help,
    Redwing