a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">

Thread: Hoyt string stretch

Hoyt string stretch

I finally had decent weather to sight in my new Vector Turbo and everything was going well untill I started shooting high and to the left. I kept looking everything over and nothing had moved and all was tight. Then I went into the house and drew it back and noticed that the top cam stop wasn't even touching the cable, almost a 1/4" away!! We had it set a little hot so the top would hit right before the bottom stop did. I know strings stretch but I had less than a 100 shots through this bow. That's the most stretch that I've ever seen in such a short amount of time. Has anyone else had this problem with the factory string on their Hoyt? I'm placing my order this morning for an aftermarket string/cables!

Attached Images Attached Images
    HOYT (KATERA, VECTOR TURBO) ~ VAPOR TRAIL (PRO V, LIMBDRIVER) ~ SPOT-HOGG (HOGG-IT) ~ GOLD TIP (HUNTER XT)
    TILT TAMER ~ www.tilttamer.com
    VENDETTA (ENFORCER) ~ www.vendettaarchery.net
    VAPOR TRAIL PROSTAFF ~ www.vaportrailarchery.com

usualy i tell people to shoot a 100 shots then bring it to me to tune... in the past most the stretching is done within the first 50 shots so i say 100 just to be safe

Take this for what it worth------TAKE A VERY SERIOUS LOOK AT THE CONDITION OF YOUR STRING. One of the guys I work with was having a tune problem on his new Turbo-------well he finally found out last week what it was------the string broke under the center serving when he shot it trying to figure out what was going on. NOW not to say this is your problem as I have very rarely seen any problems with the Hoyt string and cables in the last couple of years. Myself I have thousands of shots on mine since I set it up and it hasn't moved one bit. But yours at that much you have a very serious problem, do not shoot it or attempt to fix it until you have it figured out----your problem is NOT stretch.