Thread: Target Panic!!

Target Panic!!

I started shooting competively within the last couple years and never experianced "target Panic". I shot spots this year and started experiancing target panic! just started shooting some foam and my target panic has carried over and its even worse than ever! cant settle in without wanting to punch trigger etc! never had any of these issues!!! what can i do to conquer this!!

One theory of the cause of target panic is that it is a shot sequence that is shot out of sequence or missing a step. The cure is to first write down a shot sequence. In your case, be sure to put "settle in at anchors" before execution. You also want to find a way to execute that doesn't involve your finger doing anything to cause the trigger to release.

Then you go to a blank bale and practice the sequence one step at a time until you can't do it any other way. Without a target to aim at, you should be able to settle in before executing. This will take a long time, at least a month and probably two. There is a good explanation of the process in the book "Idiot Proof Archery". The second step is the bridge. Also explained in the book. It's a long disciplined approach to TP, but you will come out the other side with control over your shot.

On triggering the release. It sounds like you are shooting a wrist release. The book also gives a good explanation of how to shoot those without any action or movement by your index finger.

This process isn't easy because you are re-training your subconscious. But don't be discouraged. You can do it!

Good luck,
    Allen