a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">

Thread: Beginner... Recurve or Compound

Beginner... Recurve or Compound

Hey everyone,

I'm a beginner and I'm going to be buying my first bow soon. I was wondering if someone could point me to the benefits of either starting with a recurve or compound. Everyone I've asked so far says it doesn't really matter what you start on, but I still don't buy it.

Also, how do I know what makes a good bow? Manufacturers like Hoyt have soooo many bows in their line, it's hard for a beginner to tell.. Thanks!

Hi nhgaudreau,

Well, I'm pretty new to the sport of archery myself. In fact, I took it up several years ago and am picking it up again now for the first time in a long time. I never got really good at it (not many archers in my area, especially if you're shooting recurve, and it's not easy teaching yourself!), but having shot both recurve and compound, I think I can sort of give my take here, especially since we're in a similar boat.

With compound, you can adjust to shooting a much higher weight than with a recurve since compounds employ a cam system which lets a great deal of the weight off the bow once you have drawn the arrow at full length.

Personally, however, I prefer recurve because it just feels like a much more natural draw and release than a compound, which can feel a little mechanical. You're not gonna like this, but I think a lot of it is really down to which sort of style you want to shoot with.