Thread: Bales of hay for targets?

Bales of hay for targets?

Given that I live out in the country I was wondering how well a few bales of hay would work for hanging my targets up on. I can grab some for pretty cheap but I've read that arrows will go straight through them while others say they work just fine. I just have a hard time bringing myself to spend 100+ dollars on a target that will eventually be destroyed after enough shots.

im brand new to archery n dont even have my hunting rig out of the shop yet but i have a little 25 lb compound from whan i was a kid n a bale in the back yard n it shoots clean through it

yea, your gonna loose a LOT of arrows if you do that. Spend $40 and go buy and bag targer at a retail store.
    Strother Archery Shooting Staff
    Tru-Fire Shooting staff
    Gold Tip Shooting Staff
    Being confident that He who began a good work in you will continue until the day of Christ Jesus. Phl. 1:6

Not a big fan of hay. Makes a mess and if it isn't packed tight enough, pass thrus will happen sooner than later. For $50 you can get a yellow jacket bag target that will last 1000's of shots.

Or, go to the feed store, spend about $4 on a feed sack and fill with plastic bags from the grocery store.

the feed bag with plastic bags idea sounds interesting. How well does that hold up?

Quote Originally Posted by primalphil View Post
    the feed bag with plastic bags idea sounds interesting. How well does that hold up?
    It holds up great. It doesn't look as "fancy" as a commercial bag target but it works great and it is CHEAP! You can even look on E-Bay and buy a bag target cover and fill with plastic bags.

Quote Originally Posted by primalphil View Post