Thread: Finger bow and release bow...what's the difference?

Finger bow and release bow...what's the difference?

I've looked around and can't find a specific answer. Let me start out by saying that I'm a newbie again...out for about 15 years. I know that technology changes as to people. People when I was shooting did use releases but there wasn't a specific bow that was geared one way or another.

Going by what I know, which may be limited, the only reason for release specific is that current bows may have shorter axial length and narrow cams...still doesn't mean they can't be shot with fingers, right?

Is it the design of the bows or is it a trend thing...you have to shoot with a release to be accurate.

If I had a release only bow and I had good form, would it make a difference?

Just trying to learn more about technology/changing times...
    USA Level 2 Instructor
    2012 PSE Supra ME, 47#,ACC, Davis sight;2012 Dominator Pro 3D 55#; DS Advantage; ACC's
    Win-Win Inno Carbon Riser/Tropics 36#(38 tof), Redline arrows 690- DS Advantage-282grn@ 195fps
    2010 Hoyt Vantage Pro, XT 2000, Sprls, Sure Loc W BE 6X, ACC's 408g @ 259

Quote Originally Posted by Fury90flier View Post
    I've looked around and can't find a specific answer. Let me start out by saying that I'm a newbie again...out for about 15 years. I know that technology changes as to people. People when I was shooting did use releases but there wasn't a specific bow that was geared one way or another.

Going by what I know, which may be limited, the only reason for release specific is that current bows may have shorter axial length and narrow cams...still doesn't mean they can't be shot with fingers, right?

Is it the design of the bows or is it a trend thing...you have to shoot with a release to be accurate.

Has to do with string pinch on the fingers.

So,