Thread: How to select the right arrow for a recurve?

How to select the right arrow for a recurve?

I am brand new to hunting with a recurve and would like to get started in the right direction. I have a 45# 28" draw Ben Pearson Hunter. Is there a chart to go off like compound.. Can I shoot a 5575 Gold tip carbon. only becouse I already have them. otherwise what would be your sugestion, Thanks Ryan

It's hard to recommend arrows with any degree of accuracy, a lot will depend on how long your draw length is and what point weight you want to use. I have found the charts to be a good starting point, but only a starting point. If you draw the bow more or less that 28", your draw weight will vary from 45# by 2#-3# per inch, plus or minus. The Gold Tip chart recommends a 5575 for a 30" arrow, 45# bow but they don't specify tip weight. If it's not too inconvenient, the best thing to do is leave them full length, then tune with point weight or trimming length until you get good bare shaft flight. This link is a good one for tuning recurves and longbows.

http://bowmaker.net/tuning.htm

What Easy just said a full length 5575 might tune ok with enough weight up front, but I would expect them to be a bit stiff for that bow. Goldtip 3555's tune well in my 35-45lb bows left full length with about 125 grain points. I have a 30" draw so have to leave them full length anyway.

Jeff

whats your draw length?
    Hunt/target: Bowtech Insanity, MBG accent w/ vengeance head and dovetail, limb driver, Paradigm carbon hammer and QD, Black eagle
    trad: Hunterbows 3 piece hybrid longbow, bear kodiak
    paradigm archery field staff

Thanks for all the info! I have a 28.5 inch draw on my mathews. Like I said I am new to the world of traditional but love to shoot it. and would like to set it up for hunting whitetails this year. Do you recomend a broadhead that flyes good.

Also what grain tip do most use with this set up? 100 or 125...Heavier?