Thread: ways to make a crossbow quieter?

ways to make a crossbow quieter?

Just like the title says, my parker bushwacker is kind of loud, however it is not the fastest at 285 fps. What are some ways i could quiet it down without losing speed? I have heard that limb savers slow the speed down by 15 fps and that string silencers slow it down by 10 fps. What about string stoppers, do they work? Im new to this guys,please bear with me. Thanks

Nothing you add to string or limbs will quiet a crossbow. String stoppers take some vibration out and protect the bow from dryfire (somewhat) they don't quiet the bow much either. Just the nature of the beast. And they say we have an edge on verts....NOT!
    Why do I hunt? Simple, it's BASIC.
    Why do you breathe?!

Excalibur, Mission, single shot rifles and handguns

Quote Originally Posted by moose93 View Post
    Just like the title says, my parker bushwacker is kind of loud, however it is not the fastest at 285 fps. What are some ways i could quiet it down without losing speed? I have heard that limb savers slow the speed down by 15 fps and that string silencers slow it down by 10 fps. What about string stoppers, do they work? Im new to this guys,please bear with me. Thanks
    Welcome to the forum Moose! Start with a limbsaver on your arrow retainer spring, try a limbsaver rubber butt strip, and the limbsaver buttons wont cost you speed if you mount them close to the riser. You have to make sure your limbs are perfectly clean before you apply them. My opinion on string stoppers is that the do work to a certain extent if the string is a credit cards thickness away from the bumpers. I've found that they stop the string vibrations dead after the the arrow is launched. I don't know how well they will help in a dryfire as you have a compound.
    Happy shootin,
    Hank
    2010 Equinox with S-5, and Smokepole string
    Firebolts with pink tigerstripe Blazers
    145 gr. Saunders Blunts
    150 gr. Boltcutters