a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">

Thread: Can you dry fire a bow with an Arrow on the string?

Question Can you dry fire a bow with an Arrow on the string?

I am new to archery and recently purchased a Bear Encounter. Yesterday I was shooting for the first time, I have it set to 50lb draw and it is a little difficult (have to build some muscle) but after shooting for awhile I had shot where I pulled back and released the string with an arrow. The bow essentially dry fired, the string came off the Cam (but still captured in the bow itself) and went limp and the arrow went nowhere.

The bow doesn't appear damaged (though I'm not expert, I am going to take a cu-tip and look for cracks but I couldn't see anything with my eye) and I have a shop looking at it.

I'm just trying to understand what happened.

Is it possible that maybe (because I was tired and haven't trained with the bow much) poor form could lead to this happening?

The only thing that I can come up with is maybe I didn't have the string pulled straight back and had it at an angle so that when I released it the force was off center and the string hit the bow as opposed to being allowed to fire the arrow.

Does this sound plausible? Other scenarios?

I think I understand the proper way to draw and everything, I think I just made a really big noob mistake. I'm just hoping it doesn't cost me. Live and learn I guess.

Might be the death grip. Do you let the grip float against your palm, or do you close your fingers around it? If you close your hand on the grip, you can "torque" the bow, or twist it so the string is no longer in line with the groove on the cams, then it can derail. Could really be a number of other things too, I'm not familiar with the "Bear Encounter".
    If it's got moving parts, I'm interested.
    Current gear:
    Mathews Monster XLR8 70lbs.
    High Country Archery X-Treme 70lbs.
    Bowtech RPM360 72lbs. "birth" weight. Currently just below that.